Week 2 & Week 4 combined: Gymnázium nad Alejí, Prague

This whole spring is just bursting with examinations. I have finished (and, more importantly, passed) my Czech B1 exams on April, 1, I’m writing Czech B2 exams in May, and right now I’ve got admission exams, which are, well, basically the most important exams in the last few years of my life. Depending on the results, I will either get into a really cool and awesome Prague-based school with a high level of English and study there for totally free and be among Czechs and will finally get out of the environment I hate so much, or make my family spend large sums of money on me – again – and get into a private school for Russian students whose parents don’t have enough money or intelligence to provide their child with a better education (Czech Republic is rather far from being the best-educated country, let’s be fair), and feeling guilty for my family wasting everything they’ve got on me and giving me much more moral and financial support than I deserve.

I would really like to tell you about the school I want to be good enough to attend and the examinations it holds before I’ve done the exams and found out I’m not good enough, and writing about the school will bring nothing but pain so stinging one doesn’t do anything about because they know they simply can’t, hence publishing what was supposed to be published on Week 4 right after a Week 1 post. Besides, it’s kinda a Week 2 theme, too, so that’s probably fine (or “fajn”, as they say here). 

Gymnázium nad Alejí is based on Nad Alejí street in Prague 6, near Petřiny underground/tram/bus station and about 19 minutes spent in metro away from the centre of the city. According to unofficial sources (there’s no official ones), it is the fourth best grammar school in the whole country, considering private and church schools. Gymnázium pays a lot of attention to foreign languages, and, apart from Czech and English, they also teach French, German, or Spanish. They have other awesome things, too, surely, but languages is what I’m interested in most at the moment.

All English teachers are native speakers (which is important to me), the students partake in various exchange programs, and there are loads of extracurricular classes. Most of the graduates have passed FCE or CAE examinations and now successfully study in universities.

Apart from the level of education, the school – the building itself – is amazing, as well as the people inside it. I’m not sure I’m able to verbally describe the interior and everything, but there are some photos I took. As for the teachers and the headmaster, they all seem very friendly and nice and almost too ready to help. That can be easily proved even by the single fact that they agreed to deal with me despite my weird and complex studying situation (as you know, I was only one year away from graduating from school in Russia when I decided I can’t take it anymore) and quite poor Czech.

The admission exams will be taken by me (and others, surely) next Wednesday, April, 22nd, and it’s gonna be hard because over half of them will be more linked to the Czech language rather than actual knowledge that I may possess, and it’s going to last for five hours, and I hope I will be at least able to survive it. (although, of course, passing it would be great, too)

the photographic description of the school is as follows:

alej chicago 2014

alej ucebna zemepisu

alej laborator fyziky

alej dveri informatika

alej dveri

alej doors

alej trida

alej art class

alej extracurricular english activities

alej divadelni sal

alej drama class

alej chodba

alej clocks

p.s.: There is going to be a lot of stuff in the Week 3 – something I’ve created post next weekend, so don’t miss it! x

Leave a Reply

